EUROPEAN REGIONAL WORKING GROUP (ERWG)
Back

Europe is the world's second-smallest continent by surface area, covering about 10,180,000 square kilometers or 2% of the Earth's surface and about 6.8% of its land area. Of Europe's approximately 50 countries/states, Russia is by far the largest by both area and population, while the Vatican City is the smallest. Of these, 22 countries/States came together in 1995 to establish the ICID's European Regional Working Group (ERWG) with the motto "Comprehensive land and water management in European River basins for the sustainable development of the rural landscape". With 23.2  million hectares of irrigated land and  9 % of the world’s population, the ERWG today provides knowledge transfer and exchange of experiences in matters of trans-boundary waters and land management in European countries; co-operation of experts and organizations engaged in nationaland international objectives and development and promotion of border crossing projects and conferences.

The WG has many Sub-committees working on topics of regional/ local significance. The WG has brought out several valuable publications like:

The WG has organized 25 Regional Conferences so far on topics of current importance

Established : 1995
Mandate: The mission of ERWG is to promote awareness about critical ICID relevant water issues at all levels in Europe and to pay special attention to the environmentally sustainable water management in Europe.
Sl. No. Name Email Country Membership
1 Mr. Ian William Makin ianwmakin@gmail.com United Kingdom Chair
2 Prof. Peter Kovalenko Ukraine Vice Chair
3 Mr. Olli-Matti Verta olli-matti.verta@mmm.fi Finland Secretary
4 Mr. Peter Alexey Yurievich Russia Member
5 Prof.dr.sc. Davor Romic dromic@agr.hr Croatia Member
6 Mr. Pedro Eduardo da Cunha Serra aderito@inag.pt Portugal Member
7 Dr. Marco Arcieri m.arcieri@icid.org Italy Member
8 Dr. Sami Bouarfa sami.bouarfa@inrae.fr France Member
9 Mr. Hannes Puu hannes.puu@pma.agri.ee Estonia Member
10 Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Vorlop Germany Member
11 Ing. Frederik M. Cate Austria Member
12 Dr. Irina G. Pankova rusiptrid@mail.ru Russia Member
13 Dr. Mrs. Irene Bondarik Russia Member
14 Prof. Dr. Ing. Ion Nicolaescu Romania Member
15 Dr. (A.L.) Pol Hakstege pol.hakstege@rws.nl Netherlands Member
16 Dr. John Martin john.martin@opw.ie Ireland Member
17 Dr. Laszlo G. Hayde Hungary Member
18 Prof. dr. Svatopluk Matula Matula@AF.CZU.CZ Czech Republic Member
19 Dr. (Mrs.) Sabine Seidel sabine.seidel@tu-dresden.de Germany Young Professional