Floods are important components of the natural hydrological regime. They are a major source of water; they flush pollutants and sediment from river networks. It is also natural for rivers to overtop their banks with greater or lesser frequency and occupy their flood plains. As a result, floods can cause property damage and bring death and injury to many communities. While there is no evidence as yet that the frequency or magnitude of flooding has increased world-wide, flood-prone areas are becoming increasingly more densely populated and thus more vulnerable. Consequently, a series of major flood disasters has occurred in recent years, with death and destruction being caused by such events in every continent..

“The task is not just to preserve water resources to sustain life, but also to reduce the capacity of water to take life away. …we can and must reduce the number and impact of disasters by building sustainable communities that have the long-term capacity to live with risk.”

--Kofi Annan, United Nations Secretary-General (8 October 2003)


Sl. No. Name Country Membership
1 Dr. Kamran Emami Iran Chair
2 Dr. lkuo Yoshinaga Japan Vice Chair
3 Ms. Sahar Norouzi Iran Secretary
4 Mr. Olli-Matti Verta Finland Member
5 Mr. Maurice Roos United States of America Member
6 Mr. Arthon Suttigarn Thailand Member
7 Eng. Hind Massoud Sudan Member
8 Mr. Abdullahi Hassan Hussein Somalia Member
9 Dr. (Ms.) Rozalija Cvejic Slovenia Member
10 Engr. Syed Mahmood-ul-Hassan Pakistan Member
11 Mr. Marcel Marchand Netherlands Member
12 Dr. Abdelilah Taky Morocco Member
13 Mr. Ahmad Bin Dakur Malaysia Member
14 Mr. R.K. Agarwal India Member
15 Dr. Akie MUKAI Japan Member

a Member

Membership consists of National Committees who represent their...

Also includes
  • Integrated Library Management System (ILMS)
  • ICID Register of World Heritage Irrigation Structures
  • Irrigation Dictionary (MTD)
  • Irrigation & Drainage Products & Services Directory
View All
Corporate / Institutional
Central Board of Irrigation and Power (CBIP), India
India Water Foundation, India
WAPCOS Limited, India
Asian Development Bank (ADB), Philippines
Ningbo Yaofeng Hydraulic Electrics Co., Ltd., China
Dayu Water-Saving Group Co. Ltd., China
Electrosteel Castings Limited, India
Institute of Hydraulics and Rural Water Management, Austria
Agriculture Growth of Rural India, India
Maharashtra Water Resources Regulatory Authority (MWRRA), India
Dubai Municipality, United Arab Emirates