WORKING GROUP ON SUSTAINABLE DRAINAGE (WG-SDRG)*
Back

Sustainable drainage systems (also known as SuDS, SUDS, or sustainable urban drainage systems) are a collection of water management practices that aim to align modern drainage systems with natural water processes. SuDS efforts make urban drainage systems more compatible with components of the natural water cycle such as storm surge overflows, soil percolation, and bio-filtration. These efforts hope to mitigate the effect human development has had or may have on the natural water cycle, particularly surface runoff and water pollution trends. SuDS have become popular in recent decades as our understanding of how urban development affects natural environments, as well as concern for climate change and sustainability, have increased. SuDS often use built components that mimic natural features in order to integrate urban drainage systems into the natural drainage systems or a site as efficiently and quickly as possible. SUDS infrastructure has become a large part of the Blue-Green Cities demonstration project in Newcastle-upon-Tyne.


*Working Group on Drainage (WG-DRG) [1983-2013] concluded at Mardin in 2013 and established a new WG-SDRG


 

Established : 2013
Mandate: (a) To promote drainage as part of integrated water resources management; and (b) To promote sustainable approaches for drainage and related projects through a balanced integration of (i) environmental, (ii) economic, and (iii) social and cultural aspects. The WG will work on – (a) Soil management and (integrated) water (resources) management; (b) Traditional and wise drainage management including (i) dry drainage and bio drainage, (ii) arid and semi-arid zones v/s rain fed zones, and (iii) controlled drainage and regulated drainage; (c) Operation and maintenance; (d) Promotion of multi-stakeholders approaches; (e) Reuse and multiple uses; (f) Promotion of risk assessment under global change, and (g) Assessment of drainage needs.
Sl. No. Name Email Country Membership
1 Mr. Bernard Vincent Bernard.vincent@orange.fr France Chair
2 Dr. Momon Sodik Imanudin momon_unsri@yahoo.co.id Indonesia Vice Chair
3 Dr. (Ms.) Naoko KOSHIYAMA koshiyama-n@ceri.go.jp Japan Member
4 Mr. Taku MORI t.mori@ntc-i.co.jp Japan Member
5 Dr. Natsuki YOSHIKAWA natsuky@agr.niigata-u.ac.jp Japan Member
6 Eng. Mohamed Saleh El-Basyony Egypt Member
7 Eng. Maiada Mohamed Anwar Egypt Member
8 Prof. Dr. Seong Joon Kim kimsj@konkuk.ac.kr South Korea Member
9 Ir. Henk P. Ritzema henk.ritzema@wur.nl Netherlands Member
10 Mr. Shinsuke OTA shinsuke-ota@r5.dion.ne.jp Japan Member
11 Ms. Wang Shaoli shaoliw@iwhr.com China Member
12 Mr. Mati Tonismae soerimati@gmail.com Estonia Member
13 Mr. Krishna Prasad Rijal krishnarijal@gmail.com Nepal Member
14 Mr. Dilip Yewalekar - Direct Member yewalekar.dilip@jains.com India Member
15 Ms Helena Aijo helena.aijo@salaojayhdistys.fi Finland Member
16 Dr. Gurbachan Singh gbsingh@cssri.ernet.in India Member
17 Mr. Ardavan Azari ard.azari@gmail.com Iran Member
18 Prof. Sang-Ok, Chung sochung@bh.kyungpook.ac.kr South Korea Member
19 Mr. Fazal Rehman Kashif kashifd5@hotmail.com Pakistan Member
20 Dr. Yurli Yanko lomvh@mail.admiral.ru Russia Member
21 Mr. AT Van Coller smaes@nda.agric.za South Africa Member
22 Dr. James E. Ayars jayars@fresno.ars.usda.gov United States of America Member
23 Engr. Ashraf El Sayed Ismail ashsayed@hotmail.com Egypt Member
24 Engr. Mohd Anuar Musardar bin Yusoff anuarmus88@yahoo.com Malaysia Member
25 Dr. (Ms.) Naoko Koshiyama koshiyama-n@ceri.go.jp Japan Provisional Member
26 Prof. Aidan Senzanje SenzanjeA@ukzn.ac.za South Africa Provisional Member
27 Mr. Amjed Mohammed Abbas mam.eng_82@yahoo.com Iraq Provisional Member
28 Mr. Raed Abbood Awad Raadaboud45O@yahoo.com Iraq Provisional Member
29 Eng. Dina Mahmoud Mohamed Ali-Young Prfoessional Egypt Provisional Member
30 Prof. L.B. Roy Direct Member lbroy@nitp.ac.in India Provisional Member
31 Dr. R.C. Jain ratan.jain@gmail.com India Provisional Member

AGENDA/MINUTES/REPORTS/PUBLICATIONS-

CHAIRMAN’S MESSAGE+

ACTIVITIES+

ANNOUNCEMENT+

PRESENTATIONS+

GALLERY+

AWARDS+

ARCHIEVE+

INTERESTING LINKS+