WORKING GROUP ON SUSTAINABLE ON-FARM IRRIGATION SYSTEM DEVELOPMENT (WG-SON-FARM)
Back

Irrigation water from its source is conveyed up to a farm and subsequently applied to crops through various irrigation methods- surface (basins, furrows, and border strips), sprinkler, and micro irrigation. Vast amount of water goes waste if it is not applied efficiently and uniformly all over the field. Improperly planned, designed and laid/ installed irrigation system leads to losses such as deep percolation, runoff, evaporation, and wind drift affecting the performance of the system. Today a vast range of sprinkler and micro irrigation technology is available to fit all types of soil, crops, climates and farm sizes. Modern micro irrigation systems can achieve as high as 95% application efficiency leading to significant water saving.

The Working Group on On-Farm Irrigation Systems (WG-ON-FARM) promotes on-farm irrigation as part of integrated water resources management, and sustainable efficient approach for on-farm irrigation. The group has brought out many publications (manuals and guidelines) for planning, design and evaluation of micro and sprinkler irrigation systems. One of the important activities of the WG is compilation of the worldwide ‘Sprinkler and Micro irrigated Areas’. As per the latest compilation, worldwide more than 46 million ha (comprising 36 million ha sprinkler irrigation and 10 million ha of micro irrigation) are irrigated by these irrigation technologies. ICID is a ‘Liaison Member’ of ISO/TC23/SC18 since over a decade.

Another important activity of the WG is to organize’ International Micro Irrigation Congress/ Symposium’ on periodic basis.


Scoping Document


1. Questionnaire : Worldwide usage of micro & sprinkler irrigation (Revised, January 2006)
2. Report to ISO SC18, participation to the 19th ICID Congress, Beijing, September 2005
3. List of Irrigation Standards (ISO and CEN)
4. Questionnaire on "Energy Requirements for Irrigation"


 

Established : 2015
Mandate: (a) On-farm irrigation structures and water distribution system networks are properly designed, installed, managed and maintained; (b) Soil moisture is monitored, technical and management measures for enhancing the water infiltration and retention capacities of soils are investigated and implemented; (c) Trade-offs among on-farm irrigation technologies, socio-economic and environmental benefits are optimized; (d) Innovative local institutional arrangements are developed and promoted for operation and maintenance; and (e) Top-notch scientific and development relevant research is conducted and its results are translated into actionable recommendations.
*Re-constituted in 2015 and renamed as Working Group on Sustainable On-Farm Irrigation System Development (WG-SON-FARM)
Sl. No. Name Email Country Membership
1 Mr. A.K. Randev randev26@rediffmail.com India Chair
2 Mr. Carl Walters carlw@gbcma.vic.gov.au Australia Vice Chair
3 Mr. Suman Sijapati suman@sijapati.wlink.com.np Nepal Secretary
4 Dr. Hajime TANJI tanji@vmas.kitasato-u.ac.jp Japan Member
5 Dr. Teoh Chin Chuang cchin@mardi.gov.my Malaysia Member
6 Dr. Hossein Dehghani Sanij dehghanisanij@yahoo.com Iran Member
7 Prof. L.B. Roy Direct Member lbroy@nitp.ac.in India Member
8 Dr. Yu-Min Wang wangym0617@gmail.com Chinese Taipei Committee Member
9 Mr. S. Mohanarajah mohanarajah@sltnet.lk Sri Lanka Member
10 Mr. Muhammad Tahir Anwar mtahiranwar@gmail.com Pakistan Member
11 Dr. Hossein Dehghanisanij dehghanisanij@yahoo.com Iran Member
12 Mr. M.S. Sudhakar - Direct Member sudhakar@jains.com India Member
13 Mr. Abijit Joshi - Direct Member joshi.abhijit@jains.com India Member
14 Dr. Dickson Ahagbuje dicksonaha@yahoo.com Nigeria Member
15 Dr. Jos? A. Ortiz Fdz.-Urrutia aeryd@aeryd.es Spain Member
16 Dr. Chen, Ching-Tien ctchen@mail.ncyu.edu.tw Chinese Taipei Committee Member
17 Dr. Graziano Ghinassi graziano.ghinassi@unifi.it Italy Member
18 Mr. Bashu Dev Lohanee basulohani@hotmail.com Nepal Member
19 Mr. Hassan Shantia hassan.shantia@yekom.com Iran Member
20 Dr Jano Anter jano.anter@ti.bund.de Germany Member
21 Mr. Sher Singh shersingh_cwc@yahoo.co.in India Observer
22 Mr. Bruno Molle France Observer
23 Mr. Siboniso Phillip Mkhaliphi msiboniso@yahoo.com South Africa Provisional Member
24 Dr. Ibrahim Mohamed Mahmoud ibrahimnadaa@hotmail.com Egypt Provisional Member
25 Mr. Ömer Faruk Akbulut ofa@dsi.gov.tr Turkey Provisional Member
26 Prof. Chang Eon Park cepark@shingu.ac.kr South Korea Provisional Member
27 Mr. Hussein Shanan Abid Al-Hussein hussein99_11@yahoo.com Iraq Provisional Member
28 Mr. Suhad Jassim Obeed suhad_kn@yahoo.com Iraq Provisional Member
29 Dr. Zhang Guohua China Provisional Member
30 Mr. Yao Bin China Provisional Member

PRESENTATIONS-

AGENDA/MINUTES/REPORTS/PUBLICATIONS+

CHAIRMAN’S MESSAGE+

ACTIVITIES+

ANNOUNCEMENT+

GALLERY+

AWARDS+

ARCHIEVE+

INTERESTING LINKS+