EUROPEAN REGIONAL WORKING GROUP (ERWG)
Back

Europe is the world's second-smallest continent by surface area, covering about 10,180,000 square kilometers or 2% of the Earth's surface and about 6.8% of its land area. Of Europe's approximately 50 countries/states, Russia is by far the largest by both area and population, while the Vatican City is the smallest. Of these, 22 countries/States came together in 1995 to establish the ICID's European Regional Working Group (ERWG) with the motto "Comprehensive land and water management in European River basins for the sustainable development of the rural landscape". With 23.2  million hectares of irrigated land and  9 % of the world’s population, the ERWG today provides knowledge transfer and exchange of experiences in matters of trans-boundary waters and land management in European countries; co-operation of experts and organizations engaged in nationaland international objectives and development and promotion of border crossing projects and conferences.

The WG has many Sub-committees working on topics of regional/ local significance. The WG has brought out several valuable publications like:

The WG has organized 25 Regional Conferences so far on topics of current importance

Mandate: The mission of ERWG is to promote awareness about critical ICID relevant water issues at all levels in Europe and to pay special attention to the environmentally sustainable water management in Europe.
Established : 1995
Sl. No. Name Email Country Membership
1 Mr. Ian William Makin ianwmakin@gmail.com United Kingdom Chair
2 Prof. Peter Kovalenko uacid2010@gmail.com Ukraine Vice Chair
3 Mr. Olli Matti Verta olli-matti.verta@mmm.fi Finland Secretary
4 Prof. dr. Svatopluk Matula Matula@AF.CZU.CZ Czech Republic Member
5 Dr. (A.L.) Pol Hakstege pol.hakstege@rws.nl Netherlands Member
6 Dr. Sami Bouarfa sami.bouarfa@inrae.fr France Member
7 Mr. Hannes Puu hannes.puu@agri.ee Estonia Member
8 Dr. (Mrs.) Irena G. Bondarik ruscid@mail.ru Russia Member
9 Prof.dr.sc. Davor Romic dromic@agr.hr Croatia Member
10 Dr. John Martine john.martin@opw.ie Ireland Member
11 Mr. Peter Alexey Yurievich plodorodie@inbox.ru Russia Member
12 Dr. Laszlo G. Hayde l.hayde@unesco-ihe.org Hungary Member
13 Dr. Marco Arcieri m.arcieri@icid.org Italy Member
14 Dr. Irina G. Pankova rusiptrid@mail.ru Russia Member
15 Mr. Pedro Eduardo da Cunha Serra aderito@inag.pt Portugal Member
16 Prof. Ing. Ion Nicolaescu centrala@anif.ro Romania Member
17 Dr. (Mrs.) Sabina Seidel sabine.seidel@tu-dresden.de Germany Observer
18 Mr. Archil Bukia a.bukia@ag.ge Georgia Observer
19 Prof. Dr. Klaus Dieter Vorlop gecid@ti.bund.de Germany Observer