International Commission on Irrigation & Drainage Commission Interationale des Irrigation et du Drainage


Chairman Message




Europe is the world's second-smallest continent by surface area, covering about 10,180,000 square kilometers or 2% of the Earth's surface and about 6.8% of its land area. Of Europe's approximately 50 countries/states, Russia is by far the largest by both area and population, while the Vatican City is the smallest. Of these, 22 countries/States came together in 1995 to establish the ICID's European Regional Working Group (ERWG) with the motto "Comprehensive land and water management in European River basins for the sustainable development of the rural landscape". With 23.2  million hectares of irrigated land and  9 % of the world’s population, the ERWG today provides knowledge transfer and exchange of experiences in matters of trans-boundary waters and land management in European countries; co-operation of experts and organizations engaged in nationaland international objectives and development and promotion of border crossing projects and conferences.

The WG has many Sub-committees working on topics of regional/ local significance. The WG has brought out several valuable publications like:

The WG has organized 25 Regional Conferences so far on topics of current importance.

In addition to the below membership, National Committees of Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland and Slovenia nominated their representatives.



The mission of ERWG is to promote awareness about critical ICID relevant water issues at all levels in Europe and to pay special attention to the environmentally sustainable water management in Europe.

Established : 1995
Sl. No. Name Email Country Position
1 Dr. Marco Arcieri m.************* Italy Chair
2 Mr. Olli Matti Verta ol************* Finland Secretary
3 Dr. (Mrs.) Irena G. Bondarik ru************* Russia Member
4 Ms. Anu Nemvalts an************* Estonia Member
5 Davor Romic dr************* Croatia Member
6 Prof. Ing. Ion Nicolaescu ce************* Romania Member
7 Mrs. Inmaculada Bravo Dominguez ib************* Spain Member
8 Dr. John Martine jo************* Ireland Member
9 Dr. Laszlo G. Hayde l.************* Hungary Member
10 Mr. Pedro Eduardo da Cunha Serra ad************* Portugal Member
11 Mr. Petra Hellemann pe************* Switzerland Member
12 Dr. Sami Bouarfa sa************* France Member
13 Dr. (Mrs.) Sabina Seidel sa************* Germany Observer
14 Dr. Irina G. Pankova ru************* Russia Observer
15 Mr. Peter Alexey Yurievich pl************* Russia Observer
16 Mr. Ian William Makin ia************* United Kingdom Representative
17 Mrs. Nato Khutsurauli na************* Georgia Representative
18 Prof. Peter Kovalenko pi************* Ukraine Representative










The European Regional Working Group (ERWG) of ICID was founded at the 46th IEC Meeting in Rome in September, 1995, and is acting under the motto "Comprehensive land and water management in European river basins for the sustainable development of the rural landscape". The tasks of ERWG can be summarized :

  • Knowledge transfer and exchange of experience in matters of border crossing water and land management in European countries
  • Co-operation of experts and organisations engaged in national, supranational and international objectives of water management and irrigated agriculture
  • Development and promotion of border crossing projects and conferences


Related items you may like

Sign up for newsletter

Follow us