International Commission on Irrigation & Drainage Commission Interationale des Irrigation et du Drainage


Since 1951, ICID has been organizing its flagship event ‘International Congress on Irrigation and Drainage’ triennially. Since its inception, each year, the congress poses certain questions highlighting the prevalent issues of the time to be addressed by the experts in particular and in general, the stakeholders involved in the field of irrigation, drainage, agriculture water management, flood control, and so forth. 

So far, ICID has held 23 Triennial Congresses, the most recent one being, the 23rd ICID Congress held in Mexico City in October 2017. The 24th ICID Congress will be held at Adelaide, Australia in 2022 on the theme “Innovation and research in agriculture water management to achieve sustainable development goals”.

With time, the topics of discussion in Congress have ranged from addressing the problems related with irrigation infrastructures such as dam construction and safety, maintenance of canals, economics and financing of irrigation and flood control works, rehabilitation and modernization of irrigation and drainage systems, groundwater recharge, water management and institutional aspects, the sustainability of irrigation and farmer participation, food production under water scarcity, poverty alleviation and various environmental challenges. Moving forward, the ICID Congress continues to strive to discuss the state-of-the-art innovation and research in the area of irrigation and drainage. 

For more information about Forthcoming ICID Congress can be viewed at

Mandate: The mandate of the Committee is: To recommend general improvement in conduct of WIFs, Congresses, Conferences and other ICID events; Representatives/Organizers of the ICID events to present a summary report on preparations made for the said events; Share the lessons learned / difficulties faced in organizing the events; and Make proposals for the smooth conduct of the ICID events
Established : 1990
Sl. No. Name Email Country Position
1 Mr. Bryan Ward Australia Chair
2 Mr. Bashu Dev Lohanee Nepal Representative
3 Mr. Momir Vranes Australia Representative
4 Prof. El - Houssine Bartali Morocco Representative
5 Ms. Christine Delphin Australia Representative
6 Dr. K. Yella Reddy, FIE India Representative
7 Mr. M.Z. Fatah Indonesia Representative
8 Dr. Ding Kunlun China Representative


The Committee on Congresses/Conferences was established in 1990 and provides an important function to ensure that the ICID community has the benefit of learning from the experience of others who have held similar events. These experiences and lessons learnt assist ICID members to ensure that they have the benefit of this knowledge when applying for and hosting future events. C-CONGR is able to make recommendations to improve the conduct of World Irrigation Forums, Congresses, Conferences and Regional Events. Host countries participate on C-CONGR prior to their event and then share their experience and feedback to the committee after the event is held.

Bryan Ward
Chairman, C-CONGR










Sign up for newsletter

Follow us