International Commission on Irrigation & Drainage Commission Interationale des Irrigation et du Drainage

Sustainable drainage systems (also known as SuDS, SUDS, or sustainable urban drainage systems) are a collection of water management practices that aim to align modern drainage systems with natural water processes. SuDS efforts make urban drainage systems more compatible with components of the natural water cycle such as storm surge overflows, soil percolation, and bio-filtration. These efforts hope to mitigate the effect human development has had or may have on the natural water cycle, particularly surface runoff and water pollution trends. SuDS have become popular in recent decades as our understanding of how urban development affects natural environments, as well as concern for climate change and sustainability, have increased. SuDS often use built components that mimic natural features in order to integrate urban drainage systems into the natural drainage systems or a site as efficiently and quickly as possible. SUDS infrastructure has become a large part of the Blue-Green Cities demonstration project in Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

*Working Group on Drainage (WG-DRG) [1983-2013] concluded at Mardin in 2013, and established as Working Group on Sustainable Drainage (WG-SDRG) (2013-2020).

Established a new Working Group on Land Drainage (WG-LDRG) (2020-2026) at the 71st IEC Meeting (Virtual), 2020



(a) To promote drainage as part of integrated water resources management; and (b) To promote sustainable approaches for drainage and related projects through a balanced integration of (i) environmental, (ii) economic, and (iii) social and cultural aspects. The WG will work on

Established : 2013

Chairman Message



Sl. No. Name Email Country Position
1 Dr. Momon Sodik Imanudin mo************* Indonesia Vice Chair
2 Mr. Fazal Rehman Kashif ka************* Pakistan Secretary
3 Prof. Aidan Senzanje Se************* South Africa Member
4 Mr. Ardavan Azari ar************* Iran Member
5 Eng. Dina Mahmoud Mohamed Ali e.************* Egypt Member
6 Dr. Gurbachan Singh gb************* India Member
7 Dr. Hao-Che Ho ha************* Chinese Taipei Committee Member
8 Prof. L.B. Roy - Direct Member lb************* India Member
9 Eng. Maiada Mohamed Anwar ma************* Egypt Member
10 Mr. Mati Tonismae so************* Estonia Member
11 Eng. Mohamed Saleh El-Basyony Mo************* Egypt Member
12 Engr. Mohd Anuar Musardar bin Yusoff an************* Malaysia Member
13 Dr. Ratan Chand Jain ra************* India Member
14 Mr. Shinsuke OTA sh************* Japan Member
15 Ms. Wang Shaoli sh************* China Member
16 Dr. Yurii Yanko lo************* Russia Member








Sign up for newsletter

Follow us