WORKING GROUP ON RAIN WATER HARVESTING (WG-RWH)
Back

Rainwater harvesting is the accumulation and storage of rainwater for reuse on-site, rather than allowing it to run off. Rainwater can be collected from rivers or roofs, and in many places, the water collected is redirected to a deep pit (well, shaft, or borehole), a reservoir with percolation, or collected from dew or fog with nets or other tools. Its uses include water for gardens, livestock[ irrigation, domestic use with proper treatment, indoor heating for houses, etc. The harvested water can also be used as drinking water, longer-term storage, and for other purposes such as groundwater recharge


Concept Note ..... Notification


 

 

Mandate:
  1. Promote rainwater harvesting as a natural, local, efficient source of water in accordance with the Key Principles of Rainwater Harvesting.
  2. Provide research and advice from a range of disciplines to inform rainwater harvesting, irrigation and agricultural practices including water management, land use planning, policy environments, stormwater management and manufacturing.
  3. Provide Rainwater Harvesting Codes of Practice suitable for urban and agricultural use.
    Established : 2018
Sl. No. Name Email Country Membership
1 Mr. Geoff Harvey geoff.harvey@irrigation.org.au Australia Chair
2 Dr. Ratan Chand Jain ratan.jain@gmail.com India Member
3 Prof. Dr. Ragab Ragab ragab@icid.org United Kingdom Member
4 Mr. Michael Smit michael.smit@kingspan.com Australia Member
5 Mrs. Mary Jean M. Gabriel MaryJeanG@nda.agric.za South Africa Member
6 Ms. Kathleen Murray kathleen.murray@verterra.com.au Australia Member
7 Dato. Ir. Hj. Nor Hisham bin Mohd Ghazali hisham@water.gov.my Malaysia Member
8 Dr. Dr. Alok K Sikka (IWMI) A.Sikka@cgiar.org India Member
9 Mr. Bashu Dev Lohanee basulohani@hotmail.com Nepal Member
10 Dr. Warren Helgason warren.helgason@usask.ca Canada Member
11 Dr. Vinod Kumar Tiwari vinod.j.tiwari@gmail.com India Member
12 Dr. Puspa Raj Khanal (FAO) pusparaj.khanal@fao.org Thailand Member
13 Mr. A.K. Randev randev26@rediffmail.com India Member
14 Prof. (Ms.) Elena Bresci elena.bresci@unifi.it Italy Member

AGENDA/MINUTES/REPORTS/PUBLICATIONS-

CHAIRMAN’S MESSAGE+

ACTIVITIES+

ANNOUNCEMENT+

PRESENTATIONS+

GALLERY+

AWARDS+

ARCHIEVE+

INTERESTING LINKS+