International Commission on Irrigation & Drainage Commission Interationale des Irrigation et du Drainage



WORKING GROUP ON RAIN WATER HARVESTING (WG-RWH)

Rainwater harvesting is the accumulation and storage of rainwater for reuse on-site, rather than allowing it to run off. Rainwater can be collected from rivers or roofs, and in many places, the water collected is redirected to a deep pit (well, shaft, or borehole), a reservoir with percolation, or collected from dew or fog with nets or other tools. Its uses include water for gardens, livestock[ irrigation, domestic use with proper treatment, indoor heating for houses, etc. The harvested water can also be used as drinking water, longer-term storage, and for other purposes such as groundwater recharge


Concept Note ..... Notification


 

 

Mandate:
  1. Promote rainwater harvesting as a natural, local, efficient source of water in accordance with the Key Principles of Rainwater Harvesting.
  2. Provide research and advice from a range of disciplines to inform rainwater harvesting, irrigation and agricultural practices including water management, land use planning, policy environments, stormwater management and manufacturing.
  3. Provide Rainwater Harvesting Codes of Practice suitable for urban and agricultural use.
    Established : 2018
Membership
Sl. No. Name Email Country Position
1 Mr. Geoff Harvey geoff.harvey@irrigation.org.au Australia Chair
2 Mr. Michael Smit michael.smit@kingspan.com Australia Member
3 Dr. A.K. Randev randev26@rediffmail.com India Member
4 Mr. Bashu Dev Lohanee basulohani@hotmail.com Nepal Member
5 Mrs. Mary Jean M. Gabriel MaryJeanG@nda.agric.za South Africa Member
6 Prof. (Ms.) Elena Bresci elena.bresci@unifi.it Italy Member
7 Dr. Warren Helgason warren.helgason@usask.ca Canada Member
8 Ms. Kathleen Murray kathleen.murray@verterra.com.au Australia Member
9 Dr. Ratan Chand Jain ratan.jain@gmail.com India Member
10 Dr. Vinod Kumar Tiwari vinod.j.tiwari@gmail.com India Member
11 Dato. Ir. Hj. Nor Hisham bin Mohd Ghazali hisham.ghazali@gmail.com Malaysia Member
12 Prof. Dr. Ragab Ragab ragab@icid.org United Kingdom Member
13 Dr. Puspa Raj Khanal mem_1480@icid.org India Member
14 Dr. Alok Sikka mem_1510@icid.org India Member

CHAIRMAN’S MESSAGE+

Coming Soon

ACTIVITIES-

ANNOUNCEMENT+

AGENDA/MINUTES/REPORTS/PUBLICATIONS+

PRESENTATIONS+

CONCLUDED WORKBODIES/ TECHNICAL GROUPS+

GALLERY+

AWARDS+

ARCHIVES+

INTERESTING LINKS+


Sign up for newsletter

Follow us