International Commission on Irrigation & Drainage Commission Interationale des Irrigation et du Drainage

Irrigation water from its source is conveyed up to a farm and subsequently applied to crops through various irrigation methods- surface (basins, furrows, and border strips), sprinkler, and micro irrigation. Vast amount of water goes waste if it is not applied efficiently and uniformly all over the field. Improperly planned, designed and laid/ installed irrigation system leads to losses such as deep percolation, runoff, evaporation, and wind drift affecting the performance of the system. Today a vast range of sprinkler and micro irrigation technology is available to fit all types of soil, crops, climates and farm sizes. Modern micro irrigation systems can achieve as high as 95% application efficiency leading to significant water saving.

The Working Group on On-Farm Irrigation Systems (WG-ON-FARM) promotes on-farm irrigation as part of integrated water resources management, and sustainable efficient approach for on-farm irrigation. The group has brought out many publications (manuals and guidelines) for planning, design and evaluation of micro and sprinkler irrigation systems. One of the important activities of the WG is compilation of the worldwide ‘Sprinkler and Micro irrigated Areas’. As per the latest compilation, worldwide more than 46 million ha (comprising 36 million ha sprinkler irrigation and 10 million ha of micro irrigation) are irrigated by these irrigation technologies. ICID is a ‘Liaison Member’ of ISO/TC23/SC18 since over a decade.

Another important activity of the WG is to organize’ International Micro Irrigation Congress/ Symposium’ on periodic basis.

Scoping Document

1. Questionnaire : Worldwide usage of micro & sprinkler irrigation (Revised, January 2006)
2. Report to ISO SC18, participation to the 19th ICID Congress, Beijing, September 2005
3. List of Irrigation Standards (ISO and CEN)
4. Questionnaire on "Energy Requirements for Irrigation"


Strategy Themes: On-Farm

(a) On-farm irrigation structures and water distribution system networks are properly designed, installed, managed and maintained; (b) Soil moisture is monitored, technical and management measures for enhancing the water infiltration and retention capacities of soils are investigated and implemented; (c) Trade-offs among on-farm irrigation technologies, socio-economic and environmental benefits are optimized; (d) Innovative local institutional arrangements are developed and promoted for operation and maintenance; and (e) Top-notch scientific and development relevant research is conducted and its results are translated into actionable recommendations.

*Re-constituted in 2015 and renamed as Working Group on Sustainable On-Farm Irrigation System Development (WG-SON-FARM)

Established : 2015

Chairman Message



Sl. No. Name Email Country Position
1 Dr. A.K. Randev ra************* India Chair
2 Mr. Carl Walters ca************* Australia Vice Chair
3 Mr. Suman Sijapati su************* Nepal Secretary
4 Dr. Ashish Pandey - Direct Member as************* India Member
5 Dr. Caner Demir ca************* Turkey Member
6 Prof. Chang Eon Park ce************* South Korea Member
7 Dr. Chen, Ching-Tien ct************* Chinese Taipei Committee Member
8 Mr. Dilip Yewalekar ye************* India Member
9 Dr. Gamal Mohamed Elkassar ge************* Egypt Member
10 Dr. Graziano Ghinassi gr************* Italy Member
11 Dr. Guanghua Guan GG************* China Member
12 Dr. Hossein Dehghanisanij de************* Iran Member
13 Mr. Ibrahim Burak Yeşiloğlu ib************* Turkey Member
14 Prof. L.B. Roy - Direct Member lb************* India Member
15 Prof. Luo Yufeng yf************* China Member
16 Dr. (Ms.) Neelam Patel ne************* India Member
17 Mr. Ömer Faruk Akbulut of************* Turkey Member
18 Dr. Shao Yiu Hsu sy************* Chinese Taipei Committee Member
19 Mr. Siboniso Phillip Mkhaliphi ms************* South Africa Member
20 Mr. Taku MORI t.************* Japan Member
21 Dr. Teoh Chin Chuang cc************* Malaysia Member
22 Dr. Yu Min Wang wa************* Chinese Taipei Committee Member
23 Mr. Abijit Joshi jo************* India Permanent Observer
24 Mr. M.S. Sudhakar su************* India Permanent Observer

In addition to the below membership, representative from FAO is Permanent Observer.






Related items you may like

Sign up for newsletter

Follow us