International Commission on Irrigation & Drainage Commission Interationale des Irrigation et du Drainage

Direct Members

He has a Bachelors in civil engineering from IIT Roorkee, Masters in Civil Engineering from IISc Bengaluru and PhD in hydropower engg from IIT Roorkee. He did Hydropow:er Diploma studies at NTH, Trondheim.

Prof" Kumar is a Professor at Hydro and Renewable Energy Deptt, IIT Roorkee. He was awarded MNRE Chair Professor during 2013-2018 and headed department from 1998 to 201l. He served as independent  director on Board ofNHPC Ltd, Govt of India PSU during 2015-Z0lg.His research areas are Hydropower Development, Environmental Management of Water Bodies, Energy Economics and Polioy and pumped storage schemes.
Prof? Kumar has over 38 years of experience in Hydropower and environmental management of river and lakes. He served CLA for Hydropower on SRREN for IPCC. He established ilydraulic Turbine R&D Laboratory, Real Time Hydropower Simulator, Sediment Monitoring and Impact Analysis Laboratory and developed standards for small hydropower and lake conservation. He initiated a master programme in environmental  management of rivers and lakes in2004. 

He appraises projeet proposals for Government of India and state governments regularly. He carried out CIA studies of hydropower projects on few major rivers. Prof. Kumar had received various awards and recognitions from CBIP, Institution of Engineers and HpA.
He has authored/contributed papers in peered reviewed international and national Journal 40, Conferences 145, National, Books/Guidelines - 43, BIS guidelines for SHP l. He is international member of ASCE, ASME, AWWA, IAHR and Life Fellow of Institution of Engineers (I), INHA, IWWA, IWRS, IHS, IPHE and Member of SESI.


Address : Department of Hydro and Renewable Energy (Formerly Alternate Hydro Energy Centre) Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, Roorkee - 247 667, Uttarakhand

Telephone : ~91 1332) 285821

Mobile : ~91 9837016919

Email :

Sign up for newsletter

Follow us